Meet the Safeguarding Team

Working Together to keep our children safe

 

Mrs E Hughes
Headteacher & Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL)
DSL Training: 13th October 2021
0161 224 1269
e.hughes@chapelstreet.manchester.sch.uk

Mrs K Pilling
Deputy Headteacher & Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL)
DSL Training: 13th November 2020
0161 224 1269
k.pilling@chapelstreet.manchester.sch.uk

Mrs S Powell
Family Work Coordinator & Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (DDSL)
DSL Training: 5th February 2021
0161 224 1269
spowell@chapelstreet.manchester.sch.uk

Miss K Baskeyfield
Assistant Headteacher for KS2 & Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (DDSL)
DSL Training: 13th October 2021
0161 224 1269
k.baskeyfield@chapelstreet.manchester.sch.uk

Mrs K Ortoft
SENCO & Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (DDSL)
DSL Training: 18th November 2021
0161 224 1269
k.ortoft@chapelstreet.manchester.sch.uk

Mr T Wheeler
Chair of Governors and Named Safeguarding Governor
DSL Training: 24th May 2021
t.wheeler@chapelstreet.manchester.sch.uk

The Role of Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL)

The role of the Designated Safeguarding Person was specified in the Children Act 2004 and was to ensure that every organisation had a “named person” for safeguarding children and young people. Prior to that, the role had frequently been known as the Child Protection Officer.

The Designated Safeguarding Person has a responsibility at both a strategic level within the organisation and on a day to day basis.

Key Aspects of the Designated Person role includes:

  • Making sure all staff are aware how to raise safeguarding concerns
  • Ensuring all staff understand the symptoms of child abuse and neglect
  • Referring any concerns to social care
  • Monitoring children who are the subject of child protection plans
  • Maintaining accurate and secure child protection records

 

NSPCC Information on the role of the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL)

Find out more about Safeguarding and the role of a DSL

Inclusive